YouTube has introduced a new privacy feature for people who share a TV or other devices with family members. The feature allows users to protect their YouTube profile with a four digit PIN.
According to YouTube CEO Neal Mohan the profile lock feature is now rolling out globally.
It prevents other people using the same TV from opening a user’s profile viewing their subscriptions or changing their video recommendations.
How to lock a YouTube profile
Users can turn on the feature through the Settings option in the navigation menu on the left side of the YouTube TV app. The lock works separately on each device. This means users with YouTube profiles on two different TVs or devices will need to set up the lock on each one.
Unlock your profile with your Phone
Users do not always need to enter the four digit PIN using the TV remote. After selecting a locked profile they can unlock it through the YouTube app on their phone if notifications are enabled.
What if you forget the PIN?
If a user forgets the PIN, they can select the “Forgot password” option on the TV screen. They can then use their Google Account details to regain access and create a new PIN.
PIN is not a real password
YouTube says the four digit code should not be treated as an actual account password. The feature is mainly designed to provide extra privacy when a YouTube profile is being used on a shared device.






